Howard's error revoked; Bastardo's ERA skyrockets

Howard's error revoked; Bastardo's ERA skyrockets

Bowa: Bullpen struggles a 'learning experience'

April 16, 2014, 2:45 pm
Share This Post

Because of a scoring change, Ryan Howard has committed just two errors this season. (USA Today Images)

The groundball hit by Brewers reserve outfielder Logan Schafer in the eighth inning of last Wednesday's 9-4 Phillies loss has been changed from an error on Ryan Howard to a double.

The decision was announced by Major League Baseball on Wednesday.

Brewers manager Ron Roenicke vehemently criticized the official scorer at Citizens Bank Park after that game (see story).

"I mean, this is ridiculous," Roenicke said before taking questions in the visitor's clubhouse at CBP. "The Schafer ball, that's ridiculous. ... Is this the way this [scorer] is or what? Something needs to be done about it. We send stuff in to the league and nothing gets done."

Something was done this time. And it will affect the ERA of Antonio Bastardo and the Phillies' bullpen as a whole.

Originally, only one of three runs allowed in that eighth inning was charged to Bastardo. (One run scored on the Schafer ground ball, and two more scored later in the inning on a two-run triple by Ryan Braun.)

Now, Bastardo's ERA rises from 2.45 to 4.91, and the Phillies' NL-worst bullpen ERA goes from 5.53 to 5.95.

For what it's worth, Schafer himself agreed with the original ruling, which gave him an RBI but not a hit.

"I thought it was [an error], too," Schafer said last Wednesday. "But who cares? We got the win. The only thing that changes is my numbers and [Antonio] Bastardo's."

Looking for Phillies tickets? Buy them through the Wanamaker Entertainment Group.