[mlbvideo id="32252751" width="640" height="360" /]
The Phillies and Rockies played a high scoring affair on Sunday out in Colorado. Ryan Howard's bat was smoking all day long.
The Phillies slugger notched a single in the first, a 2-run home run in the third, a rare triple for the Big Piece in the 6th, and a single in the 7th that very easily could have been ruled a double. That would have been the first Phillies cycle since David Bell pulled off the feat in 2004.
The umpire score keeper took the cycle away from Ryan Howard and instead ruled the play a single with an error on the right fielder that allowed Howard to reach second.
You can watch the play in question here or in the above video.
According to Phillies beat writer Jim Salisbury, the Phillies plan to ask MLB to take another look at the scoring:
Howard might end up with another extra-base hit in the coming days. The Phillies will ask Major League Baseball to review the scoring on his seventh-inning RBI single. The ball got by rightfielder Brandon Barnes after he tried to make a shoestring catch. It was scored a single and an error. Sandberg believed the play should have been scored a double, which would have given Howard the cycle.
Howard kept the ball just in case the call is reversed.
“The goal was to get the run home, and it’s what I was able to achieve,” he said. “Anything else would have been a bonus. If it turns out being a cycle, that’d be great. But I’m still going to keep the ball as a memento. I still got four hits so it will be special anyway.”
More importantly the Phils avoided the sweep at the hands of the Rockies and head to L.A. on a winning note.
Also, how terrifying is the Rockies dino mascot named Dinger dressed up like an Easter Bunny?