Delaware 87ers Are Sixers New D-League Team, Known as the Sevens

Delaware 87ers Are Sixers New D-League Team, Known as the Sevens
April 27, 2013, 11:51 am
Share This Post

The Philadelphia 76ers decision to acquire a team in the NBA D-League is universally regarded as a great move for the franchise. Naming them the Delaware 87ers on the other hand... that's certainly up for plenty of debate.

Just as the 76ers are most commonly referred to as the "Sixers," the 87ers will be dubbed the "Sevens." Lucky!

The organization unveiled the new name today in the great state of Delaware... where the team will play at the University of Delaware's Bob Carpenter Center in Newark.

So what's the deal with the 87ers name anyway? Something important happen in a year that ended in '87?

According to the press release:

The team name "87ers" was selected in recognition of Delaware's place
in United States history, as it was the first state to ratify the U.S.
Constitution on December 7, 1787. The 87ers name also is immediately
evocative of the parent "76ers," a name similarly derived from
Philadelphia's place in U.S. history with the Declaration of
Independence being signed there in 1776. The 87ers team will also be
nicknamed the "Sevens," a nod to the way the parent club’s official
name is often shortened to the "Sixers."

The biggest problem with the name, in my opinion, is the need to rework everyone's favorite Sixers-related musical jam. 10, 9, 87ers! Just doesn't have enough umph to it. Also: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, Sevens! is kind of exhausting. Counting that high is challenging.

Welcome to exciting Delaware!

Welcome to Delaware!

— Delaware Sevens (@Sevens) April 27, 2013

Latest News