Eagles' McCoy, Peters named 1st team All-Pro

Eagles' McCoy, Peters named 1st team All-Pro
January 6, 2012, 8:23 pm
Share This Post

LeSean McCoy and Jason Peters have both been named to the Associated Press All-Pro first team, the highest individual in-season honor available to NFL players.

McCoy, who led the NFL with 20 touchdowns, is a first-time All-Pro and the Eagles second tailback named first-team All-Pro in the last five years. Brian Westbrook earned the honor in 2007, when he led the NFL in total yards from scrimmage.

Peters was a second-team pick last year and a first-team pick this year. Hes the Eagles first O-lineman named All-Pro first team since Shawn Andrews in 2006. Before Andrews, the Eagles hadnt had a first-team All-Pro offensive lineman since Stan Walters in 1979.

Peters, recently picked to his fifth consecutive Pro Bowl team, was the highest vote recipient among all NFL offensive tackles.

In addition, defensive end Jason Babin, who ranked third in the NFL with 18 sacks, was named second-team All-Pro.

The AP All-Pro team, which goes back to the early 1940s, is considered the definitive NFL All-Pro team. The team is selected by a panel of sports writers from each NFL city.

McCoy is the Eagles first draft pick named first-team All-Pro since 2004 pick Andrews was named in 2006. Hes the fourth player Andy Reid has drafted to earn All-Pro status, following Lito Sheppard, Westbrook and Andrews.

McCoy, who ran for a career-high 1,309 yards in 15 games, finished second in balloting among running backs behind Jacksonvilles Maurice Jones-Drew.

Babin, brought back to the Eagles after an unsuccessful stint here in 2009, flirted with Reggie Whites vaunted franchise sack record of 21 before being held without a sack in the Eagles last two games. He still finished with the third-most sacks in franchise history, behind Whites 21 in 12 games during the 1987 strike-shortened season and Clyde Simmons 19 in 1992.

Babin is first Eagle defensive end named All-Pro since Hugh Douglas in 2000.

McCoy, Babin and Peters were all picked to represent the Eagles in the Pro Bowl later this month in Hawaii.

David Akers of the 49ers was named to his fifth All-Pro team and received his second first-team honor after setting an NFL record with 44 field goals.

Other Honors
Eagles cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha has been named a finalist for the 2012 Bart Starr Award, given to an NFL player each year who exemplifies outstanding character on the field and in the community. Jason Witten and London Fletcher are the other finalists.

Asomugha and his final formed The Asomugha Foundation in 2005 to benefit disadvantaged youth in the U.S. and underprivileged orphans and widows in Africa through education and empowerment.

E-mail Reuben Frank at rfrank@comcastsportsnet.com

Latest News