Giroux snags MVP as Flyers give team awards

Giroux snags MVP as Flyers give team awards
April 5, 2012, 11:41 pm
Share This Post

Not a lot of surprises Thursday night at Wells Fargo Center as the Flyers handed out their annual team awards.

Claude Giroux won the Bobby Clarke Trophy as the clubs MVP, as voted by members of the media.

Giroux, who came into the Buffalo match with career-highs in goals (28), assists (64) and points (92), won this award last season.

He also won the Toyota Cup for compiling the most points as being named one of the three Stars of the Game throughout he entire season.

Kimmo Timonen won the Barry Ashbee Award as the clubs top defenseman, as voted by members of the media. Timonen entered play with 43 points tops among the clubs defense.

This was Timonens third Ashbee honor.

Jaromir Jagr won the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award, as voted by the Philadelphia Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

This award goes to the Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport both on and off the ice.

Wayne Simmonds won the Gene Hart Memorial Award for a player who exemplifies the most heart, as voted by the Flyers Fan Club.

Scott Hartnell won the Pelle Lindbergh Award as the teams most improved player, as voted by his teammates.

Hartnell, an All-Star this season, as well, has had a career year with new highs in goals (37) and points (67), coming into Thursday's game. His 30 assists tie his career-high.

Finally, Ilya Bryzgalov was presented with a piece of Tiffany crystal from the NHL in recognition for recording his 25th career shutout this season.
E-mail Tim Panaccio at

Latest News