Kelce receives annual Ed Block Courage Award

There is no data to display.

Kelce receives annual Ed Block Courage Award
December 10, 2013, 10:00 am
Share This Post

Jason Kelce has played all but five snaps this season after missing most of last year with a torn MCL and partially torn ACL. (USA Today Images)

Center Jason Kelce, who has played all but five snaps this year after missing virtually all of last season with a knee injury, has been named the Eagles’ recipient of the prestigious Ed Block Courage Award.
The Ed Block Courage Award honors 32 players, one from each NFL team, who overcome adversity and show a commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage on and off the field. The award is voted on by teammates.
Kelce suffered a torn MCL and partially torn ACL during the third quarter of the Eagles’ win over the Ravens last September and missed the rest of the season.
He bounced back to play at a high level this year for the Eagles, who lead the NFL in rushing (158 yards per game) and rank third in yards per game (409).
The first-place Eagles are 8-5 with a five-game winning streak a year after going 4-12 and finishing in last place in the NFC East without Kelce. They are 18-13 with Kelce on the field since he was drafted in the sixth round in 2011.
Kelce has played 899 of a possible 904 snaps this year, missing five at the end of the 49-20 win over the Raiders.
“He demands perfection from himself, and I think he knows I don't think anybody's going to get perfection, but that is a standard he sets for himself,” Chip Kelly said about Kelce.
“I think if Jason Kelce graded out at 99 percent, he'd be pissed off. That is just the type of guy he is. That's why he's awesome to have on this team.
“He's a competitor. He thinks you should make every block. He thinks you should make every correct call. And he's really been the anchor for us in the middle there. …
“He's got a great football mind. He's one of those guys that I would say when he's done playing, he'll be a great coach, because [of] I think his attention to detail, how much film he watches, how much he studies the game.”
Kelce is the first offensive lineman to receive the award for the Eagles since center David Alexander in 1991.
Ed Block was the Colts’ trainer from 1954 through 1977 after serving in the Army under General George S. Patton in the tank corps in World War II and earned a Purple Heart.
The 32 Ed Block Courage Award winners will be honored at the annual Ed Block Courage banquet in Baltimore this spring.
For more information on the program, go to
Here is a list of all the Eagles’ Ed Block Courage Award winners since the inception of the program in 1984:
2012 … Colt Anderson
2011 … Mike Patterson
2010 … Jason Avant
2009 … Michael Vick
2008 … Jon Dorenbos
2007 … Montae Reagor
2006 ... Jerome McDougle
2005 … Chad Lewis
2004 … Derrick Burgess
2003 … Correll Buckhalter
2002 … Shawn Barber
2001 … Duce Staley and Tommy Brasher
2000 … Cecil Martin
1999 … Mike Mamula
1998 … Bobby Taylor
1997 … Rhett Hall
1996 … Kevin Turner
1995 … Charlie Garner
1994 … Fred Barnett
1993 … Andre Waters
1992 … Jerome Brown
1991 … David Alexander
1990 … Ron Solt
1989 … Mike Quick
1988 … Wes Hopkins
1987 … Gerry Feehery
1986 … Jody Schultz
1985 … Ron Jaworski
1984 … John Spagnola