McCoy, Peters only Eagles to make Pro Bowl

McCoy, Peters only Eagles to make Pro Bowl

McCoy on Pro Bowl and New Year's resolutions

December 27, 2013, 9:15 pm
Share This Post

LeSean McCoy and Jason Peters were the only two Eagles named to the Pro Bowl. (USA Today Images)

Running back LeSean McCoy and offensive tackle Jason Peters are the only Eagles named to the 2014 Pro Bowl team, announced by the NFL Friday night.

"It means a lot to me," McCoy said. "It's exciting. A lot of my teammates have helped me out to get to this point. It's exciting, I can't wait to enjoy this time with my family. I'm taking my son for the first time."

Quarterback Nick Foles was named a first alternate. Wide receiver DeSean Jackson and left guard Evan Mathis are second alternates.

All three certainly had Pro Bowl credentials. Foles is 7-2 as a starter with 25 touchdown passes and just two interceptions, Jackson is eighth in the NFL with 79 catches for 1,304 yards and nine touchdowns, and Mathis has been at the heart of an offense that’s piling up yards at record pace.

Incredibly, nobody on the defense was acknowledged as a first or second alternate, even though the Eagles have held an NFL-high 10 of their last 11 opponents to 21 or fewer points.

“We’re not here to make the Pro Bowl, we’re here to win Super Bowls,” cornerback Cary Williams said earlier this week. “I got one and I’m trying to make sure that this team gets one, and I’ll do whatever I can to make sure we get one.

“The Pro Bowl is cool to have but it’s cooler to have a Super Bowl ring, and I’ll take that to my grave even if I don’t get a Pro Bowl.”

McCoy, the NFL’s leader in rushing and total yards, is a Pro Bowler for the second time in three years. This is the sixth time in seven years Peters has made it.

McCoy joins Tim Brown, Billy Barnes, Ricky Watters, Wilbert Montgomery and Brian Westbrook as the sixth Eagle running back named to multiple Pro Bowls.

Peters, twice a Pro Bowl pick with the Bills, is now the first offensive lineman in Eagles history named to four Pro Bowls. Thomas, Bob Brown and Frank “Bucko” Kilroy were all named to three.

This is the first time the defense has gone two years in a row without a Pro Bowl pick since 1997 and 1998.

The Eagles had no Pro Bowl picks last year for the first time since 1998.

The Pro Bowl will take on a different format this year. Instead of AFC players facing NFC players, teams will be drafted (by Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders) onto two teams with players from both conferences. The draft will take place the Tuesday and Wednesday before the game is played.

The Pro Bowl is scheduled for Jan. 26, 2014, at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.