McCoy sets Eagles' single-season records

McCoy sets Eagles' single-season records

December 29, 2013, 9:45 pm
Share This Post

LeSean McCoy broke two Eagles single-season records Sunday, passing Wilbert Montgomery in rushing yards and Brian Westbrook in yards from scrimmage. (USA Today Images)

Updated: 10:50 p.m.

ARLINGTON, Texas -- Already assured of the 2013 NFL rushing title, LeSean McCoy on Sunday night broke two Eagles single-season records, passing Wilbert Montgomery for the most rushing yards and Brian Westbrook for the most yards from scrimmage.

Montgomery set his mark with 1,512 yards in 1979. McCoy entered the Eagles-Cowboys game Sunday night at AT&T Stadium with 1,476 yards -- 37 short.

Westbrook set his mark with 2,104 yards in 2007. McCoy entered the game needing 93 yards to break that record.

McCoy had an early 20-yard run to help set up a second-quarter touchdown and then broke Montgomery’s record on a 16-yard run later in the second quarter, giving him 1,524 through that point.

He passed Westbrook with a 10-yard run to the Dallas 28 in the third quarter on an Eagles drive that stalled at the Cowboys' goal line.

McCoy had already clinched the NFL's rushing title since the Eagles-Cowboys game Sunday night was the last regular-season game of 2013.

Going into Sunday night, McCoy had a 137-yard lead over Matt Forte of the Bears for the NFL rushing lead. Cowboys back DeMarco Murray, the only other starting running back still playing, was more than 400 yards behind McCoy.

McCoy is the first Eagle to lead the NFL in rushing since Hall of Famer Steve Van Buren had 1,146 yards in 12 games in 1949. Van Buren also led the NFL in rushing in 1945 (832 yards), 1947 (1,008) and 1948 (945).

Still only 25, McCoy is already the fourth-leading rusher in Eagles history, behind only Montgomery (6,538), Brian Westbrook (5,995) and Van Buren (5,860). McCoy entered Sunday night’s game with 5,342 yards.