Miracle at the Meadowlands III named greatest play

Miracle at the Meadowlands III named greatest play
April 9, 2013, 4:45 pm
Share This Post

The fans have spoken, and they have chosen DeSean Jackson’s “Miracle at the Meadowlands III” as the winner of NFL.com's “Bracketology” to determine the greatest play in NFL history.

Jackson’s walk-off, 65-yard punt return touchdown against the New York Giants on Dec. 19, 2010 sealed a 28-point fourth quarter and a 21-point comeback for the Eagles. (See Reuben Frank's game story.)

The second annual NFL “Bracketology” featured a 64-play bracket determined by an NFL.com/NFL Network editorial panel. Fans then voted on the winners of the six-round tournament. In the final round, Jackson’s punt return received 57.8 percent of votes to defeat 49ers quarterback Steve Young’s winding run against the Vikings in 1998.

Jackson received at least 61.6 percent of votes in each of the first five rounds, including 88.7 percent of votes in the fifth round over Troy Polamalu’s flying tackle against the Titans in 2010. Jackson’s punt return also topped notable plays like Barry Sanders’ incredible touchdown run against the Patriots in 1994 and Joe Montana’s touchdown pass to Dwight Clark, dubbed “The Catch”, against the Cowboys in 1982.

Latest News