No Calder Finalists for Flyers

No Calder Finalists for Flyers
April 20, 2012, 9:01 am
Share This Post

No team in the NHL got more minutes or production out of rookies than the Flyers this season. In particular, Matt Read led all first-year players with 24 goals, and 19-year-old Sean Couturier played instrumental roles in pivotal situations since the moment the first puck dropped.

Yet, somehow, both Read and Couturier are no longer in the running to win the Calder Trophy, the league's award for rookie of the year. The NHL announced their three finalists on Friday, and no Flyers are on the list.

New Jersey's Adam Henrique, Colorado's Gabriel Landeskog, and Edmonton's Ryan Nugent-Hopkins are the remaining candidates. All three appear to be worthy choices for finalists, but it's disappointing a team that made the postseason with such a large contribution from rookies is not represented.

In the end, it's not nearly as important to Philadelphia as winning a Stanley Cup would be, but a Flyers win for rookie of the year would have felt like a win for every rookie on the team.

>> Frequent Flyers

Latest News