Flyers Notes: Team awards handed out for 2013

Flyers Notes: Team awards handed out for 2013

April 26, 2013, 9:00 am
Share This Post

Kimmo Timonen compiled 29 points this season before being sidelined with a compression fracture in his right foot. (USA Today Images)

There really were no surprises in the Flyers' final awards voting by the media and even by the team itself.

For the fourth time in his career as a Flyer -- second year running -- Kimmo Timonen won the Barry Ashbee Trophy as the team’s best defenseman, as voted by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Timonen is already done for the season with a compression fracture of the right foot, and goes into the books with 29 points in 45 games.

Scott Hartnell won the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award, which goes to the player who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport and the media, as voted by the PHWA.

Jakub Voracek -- 21 goals, 45 points -- was voted the Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy winner by his teammates as the most improved Flyer. He was also awarded the Bobby Clarke Trophy (see story).

Zac Rinaldo won the Gene Hart Memorial Award as the fan club’s choice for a player who played with the most heart.

Loose pucks
Rookie defenseman Matt Konan, wearing No. 34, made his NHL debut playing alongside fellow rookie Brandon Manning. Konan played 13:09 with two hits and one blocked shot. … Because of all the injuries to the Flyers' patched-up defense, the six defensemen the team dressed in this game had played a combined 241 games for the AHL Phantoms this season versus just 89 NHL games. … Veteran center Adam Hall won all six of his faceoffs. He is 59 percent on faceoffs (46 for 78) since joining the Flyers.

More Team Talk