NHL announces new division names for 2013-14

NHL announces new division names for 2013-14
July 19, 2013, 1:15 pm
Share This Post

Say "bye, bye" to the Atlantic, Northeast and Southeast Divisions; the Central, Northwest and Pacific Divisions, as we know them.
Realignment hits full bloom this fall with the 2013-14 NHL schedule that will see 16 teams in the Eastern Conference and 14 in the West – and four new divisional designations.
They are as follows: In the East, it’s the Atlantic Division and Metropolitan Division, except the Flyers are now in the Metropolitan Division with all the former Atlantic Division clubs plus Washington, Carolina and Columbus.
In the West, it’s the Pacific and Central Divisions.
The previous divisional alignment came about in 1998-99 and was used through the 2012-13 season.
The last time the league had specific conference name designations was 1992-93 with the Clarence Campbell Conference (western clubs) that consisted of the Norris and Smythe Divisions, and the Prince of Wales Conference (eastern clubs) that housed the Adams and Patrick Divisions.

NHL realignment 2013-14

Eastern Conference

Metropolitan Division: Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, New Jersey Devils, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins, Washington Capitals

Atlantic Division: Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Detroit Red Wings, Florida Panthers, Montreal Canadiens, Ottawa Senators, Tampa Bay Lightning, Toronto Maple Leafs.

Western Conference

Pacific Division: Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, Phoenix Coyotes, San Jose Sharks, Vancouver Canucks

Central Division: Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, St. Louis Blues, Winnipeg Jets

More Team Talk