NHL Awards: Crosby wins 2nd Hart Trophy

NHL Awards: Crosby wins 2nd Hart Trophy
June 24, 2014, 9:15 pm
Share This Post

Sidney Crosby won the NHL's Hart Trophy for the second time in his career. (AP)

Not that it was a shock by any stretch, but Sidney Crosby won the Hart Trophy on Tuesday night as the NHL’s Most Valuable Player, as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

The announcement came in Las Vegas at the NHL Awards Show.

The Pittsburgh Penguins center almost won it by a unanimous vote -- 128 first-place votes from among 137 ballots cast. It was his second Hart Trophy as an NHLer.

Crosby led the NHL in assists (68) and points (104). This was the fifth time in his career he amassed 100 or more points.

If you’re wondering, Mario Lemieux is the only Penguin to win three Hart Trophies.

Flyers center Claude Giroux was third in the balloting. He received two first-place votes. Anaheim’s Ryan Getzlaf was second -- he had five first-place votes.

Boston’s Patrice Bergeron won the Selke as the league’s best defensive forward. Sean Couturier, the Flyers' top two-way player, was ninth.

The Bruins took other honors, as well. Tuukka Rask won the Vezina Trophy as the best goalie. Flyers goalie Steve Mason was seventh and picked up one second-place vote.

Chicago’s Duncan Keith won the Norris Trophy as the league’s top defenseman by a wide margin over Boston’s Zdeno Chara.

Colorado’s Ryan O’Reilly won the Lady Byng for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct on the ice.

Another Av, Nathan MacKinnon, won the Calder Trophy as the league’s Rookie of the Year and it wasn’t even close.

If that wasn’t enough in terms of Colorado recognition, Avs coach Patrick Roy was the runaway winner of the Jack Adams Award for Coach of the Year, as voted by the NHL Broadcasters Association.

Flyers coach Craig Berube, who accompanied Giroux to the awards show, was sixth in the coach of the year voting with one first-place vote.

Incredibly, Los Angeles coach Darryl Sutter did not receive a single vote.

The Rangers' Dominic Moore, who lost his wife to cancer two years ago, won the Masterton Trophy, given to the player who "best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey."

Anaheim’s Bob Murray was voted General Manager of the Year by a panel of writers, broadcasters and NHL executives.

Los Angeles' Dean Lombardi, whose Kings won the Stanley Cup, was third.

Looking for Flyers tickets? Buy them through the Wanamaker Entertainment Group.

Latest News