Tonight in the NHL: Isles host Pens in must-win Game 6

Tonight in the NHL: Isles host Pens in must-win Game 6
May 11, 2013, 10:00 am
Share This Post

In Part II of a series examining the Flyers' offense, Tim Panaccio takes a look at the remaining Flyers forwards on the roster (see story).

Also, Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin and John Tavares were named the finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy Friday (see story).

Now, here's a look at the only NHL playoff game on tap for Saturday:

Penguins at Islanders, 7 p.m.
Pittsburgh leads series 3-2

UNIONDALE, N.Y. -- For five games, Sidney Crosby and John Tavares have been on opposite sides in the quest to lead their teams to the second round of the Stanley Cup playoffs.

On Friday, the stars of the Pittsburgh Penguins and the New York Islanders found themselves going head-to-head again: this time to be the NHL MVP.

One day before the teams were set to face off in Game 6 of the first-round, Eastern Conference series, Crosby and Tavares were announced as finalists - along with Washington Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin - for the Hart Trophy.

The voting is already in, so these stars can't campaign on or off the ice to gain support. All three are also in the mix for the Stanley Cup, but either Crosby or Tavares will be eliminated from that chase by the end of the weekend.

"It's a tremendous honor to be recognized, especially with those two guys and what great players they are, and so many other great players that had great seasons," Tavares said. "They've proved to be the best players in the game for a long time. They are still at really young ages, and they keep getting better, as well.

"They are not easy guys to play against each and every night. You see their consistency and what makes them great players. That helps push me to want to become better, knowing I have to compete against those guys. I have to raise the level of my game."

Tavares (2009), Ovechkin (2004) and Crosby (2005) were all chosen No. 1 in the NHL draft. Crosby is the only one to capture the Stanley Cup, and he was the Hart winner in 2007. Ovechkin won the award in 2008 and 2009 (see full preview).

-The Associated Press

Latest News